Individual House Tours

Explore the village’s museum houses, beautifully restored and decorated with authentic period furnishings. Go at your own pace with self-guided tours, or take an informative tour with one of our experienced guides.

Self-Guided House Tours 

Included with paid admission. 

Open 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. during the regular season.


  • Sheldon House, c. 1755 with furnishings that reflect the life of an average farming family from 1780 to 1810.
  • Stebbins House, c. 1799 with Federal period architecture and neoclassical furnishings that were popular from 1790-1820.

Guided House Tours

Included with paid admission.

Tours begin on the hour from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. and last about 35 minutes. 

  • Wells-Thorn House, a seven room house that represents 125 years of Deerfield history in seven rooms, from 1725 to 1850.
  • Hinsdale and Anna Williams House, focusing on Williams family life in the grand Federal mansion they renovated in 1816.
  • Frary House, built circa 1750, depicts the Colonial Revival home of Miss C. Alice Baker, as restored in the 1890s with New England antiques, Arts and Crafts needlework, ironware and basketry.  Baker was a teacher, collector, and antiquarian researcher, who restored the Frary House in 1892. Today Miss Baker’s home interprets the village’s active Arts and Crafts movement, her antiquarian pursuits, and her role in fostering the Colonial Revival in Deerfield.
  • Ashley House, built in 1734, served as the home of Deerfield’s 18th-century minister with furnishings of the Connecticut River elite and English ceramics.  It is an example of Deerfield’s first 18th-century building boom.

Museum Gift Shop & Bookstore Hours: open 9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. daily 

Deerfield Lunch Box: open 10:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m. for lunch, beverages and snacks. Located behind the Visitor Center at Hall Tavern.

Champney's Restaurant & Tavern at the Deerfield Inn open for lunch from 12:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. daily.