- Built in 1824 by Asa Stebbins for his son Asa Jr. upon the occasion of the latter’s marriage.
- Constructed of brick in a simple Federal style, Asa Sr. had built his own house in brick in 1799, contrasting from the earlier Georgian-inspired clapboard houses in Deerfield.
- May have been designed by Winthrop Clapp, the designer and builder of the Brick Meetinghouse (now the Brick Church) which was also erected in 1824.
- Gilded fanlight details above the front door became popular in the early 19th century.
- Asa Stebbins, Jr. was an active farmer and an energetic office holder. He served the town for many years as selectman, moderator of the town meeting, and town treasurer.
- The house remained in the hands of Asa Stebbins Jr.’s heirs until 1908, when it was acquired by George and Jane Wright.
- Purchased in 1948 by Historic Deerfield, Inc., founders Henry and Helen Flynt.
- The Flynts decided to keep the name “Wright House” as it would be confusing for Historic Deerfield to have two Stebbins Houses.
- Through the years the Wright House has been mainly a gallery house for showcasing Historic Deerfield’s outstanding collection of furniture.
- Currently home to the exhibit Furniture Masterworks: Tradition and Innovation in Western Massachusetts, part of Four Centuries of Massachusetts Furniture.
Please check at the Hall Tavern Visitor Center desk for more information about tour times. .